How does Colorado categorize sex crimes, and what are the associated punishments? Read on to find out.
Types of Sex Crimes
Colorado organizes sex crimes into 2 specific categories: sexual assault and unlawful sexual contact. The state then has assigned punishments for each category.
Sexual AssaultUnder Colorado law, sexual assault is forced, physical insertion, penetration or intrusion of an item into another person. This category includes the following crimes: rape, anal rape, and forced penetration with a foreign object.
Unlawful Sexual ContactState code defines sexual contact as intentionally touching a victim’s private parts, or forcing the victim to touch the defendant’s sexual parts. The category contains a variety of cases, including:
- Victims who do not consent.
- Victims who are unconscious or asleep, and therefore do not consent.
- Victims who’ve been jailed, imprisoned, or hospitalized, and defendants who are authoritative figures.
- Victims who’ve been impaired by a date rape drug.
The punishments of both categories vary depending on the severity of the crime. For example, if the victim of the crime was a minor, or under consenting age, the charges elevate in severity and come with harsher punishments.
In the case of sexual assault, the crime is a class 2 felony if: more than one person committed the crime, if the victim sustained severe injury, or if the defendant was armed with a deadly weapon. If charged with a class 2 felony, you could face up to 48 years in prison, up to $1,000,000 in fines, and up to 5 years of mandatory parole.
The crime is a class 3 felony if: the victim was unable to, or did not, consent, if the victim was threatened with death or serious physical harm, or if the victim was impaired by a date rape drug. Class 3 felony charges are punishable by up to 24 years in prison, up to $750,000 in fines, and up to 5 years of mandatory parole.
The law typically classifies any other form of sexual assault as a class 4 felony punishable by up to 12 years in prison, up to $500,000 in fines, and up to 3 years of mandatory parole.
Unlawful Sexual Conduct
Colorado law states that any unlawful sexual contact in which the perpetrator forced, threatened, or intimidated the victim, or impersonated a medical professional, or coerced a child victim, is a class 4 felony. This crime is punishable by up to 12 years in prison, up to $500,000 in fines, and up to 3 years of mandatory parole.
If You Are Facing Sex Crime Charges, Contact Gerash Steiner & Blanton, P.C. at (303) 732-5048.
Sex crime charges create a negative stigma and can ruin your relationships, your career, and your life in general. If you are charged with a sex crime, you need an experienced attorney to defend you.
We have helped defend clients against a variety of charges, including rape, internet sex crimes, and prostitution.
Our Denver sex crime defense lawyer will help you get a beneficial outcome and fight to get your charges reduced or even dropped.
Don’t risk your future. Contact our Denver sex crime lawyer today at (303) 732-5048. We offer free consultations!