Workers’ Compensation Rights in Colorado
What may seem like another average day at work could turn catastrophic following a work-related injury. Suffering an injury on the job is not only painful and inconvenient, but it can lead to a host of other consequences such as lost income.
As a result, you are entitled to benefits under the Workers’ Compensation Act.
5 Steps to Success
To successfully claim the benefits to which you’re entitled, you must follow the five steps below:
- Seek emergency care if necessary: If it’s a medical emergency, go to the nearest hospital for treatment right away.
- Notify your employer: You have four business days to report your injury to your employer, even if it’s verbal. For the best chance of success, you must notify your employer in writing.
If you don’t report your injury within the specified time frame, you may be punished by losing up to one day’s compensation for each day that you don’t report your injury, but only if your employer posted a sign requiring a 4 days’ written notice.
Further, your employer has 10 business days to file a report of your injury with their insurer to kickstart your workers’ compensation claim.
- Seek medical treatment: If it’s not a medical emergency, seek treatment from a provider listed on the Designated Provider List given by your employer.
- File a Workers’ Compensation Claim: File a WC-15 within two years of your injury. Although your employer is obligated to report your injury to the insurer, you must take extra precautions by submitting the WC-15 yourself.
Once you completed the form, mail or deliver two copies of the form to the Colorado Division of Worker’s Compensation, Customer Service Unit at 633 17th St., Suite 400, Denver, CO 80202-3626.
- Claim liability: Your claim may either get a General Admission or denial by a Notice of Contest. If it’s accepted, you’re entitled to benefits that cover your medical care until you reach Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI). If your claim is denied, you’re responsible for all bills associated with your injury, unless your private health insurance company covers the medical costs. But before you assume accountability for costly bills, you have two options:
- Apply for an expedited hearing within 45 days of your denial to address compensability and medical benefits
- Request a standard hearing at any time to address the issues listed on your application
Holding Employers Accountable & Helping Employees Get Benefits
If you are an employee who suffered an injury at work through no fault of your own, you can file a workers’ compensation claim to get benefits. It may sound like a straightforward process, but from our experience, our employment lawyers know how messy these situations can get.
As such, our Denver employment attorneys are committed to helping you navigate your Colorado worker’s compensation claim as efficiently as possible and fight for the maximum compensation you deserve. We can do the heavy lifting while you focus on recovering from your injuries.
We urge you to contact us within four business days of your incident for the best chances of getting a favorable outcome. Call (303) 732-5048 to set up a free consultation!