Colorado Attorneys
Gerash Steiner, P.C. Featuring More Than 40 Years of Trial Experience

What’s the Difference Between a Felony and a Misdemeanor?

In Colorado, crimes are divided into different levels – two of them being felonies and misdemeanors. The state’s laws treat offenses committed in these categories differently, which is most notably evident in the penalties assessed for a conviction.

Felonies in Colorado

Felonies are the most serious type of offense. These crimes can include false imprisonment, sexual assault, aggravated robbery, and murder. They are punishable by more than 1 year in state prison and are categorized into 6 classes, with a few being further divided into those that pose an extraordinary risk of harm to society.

The felony classes and penalties include:

  • Class 1 Felony: Life in prison or the death penalty
  • Class 2 Felony: 8 to 24 years in prison, and/or a fine between $5,000 and $1,000,000
  • Class 3 Felony (extraordinary risk): 4 to 16 years in prison, and/or a fine between $3,000 and $750,000
  • Class 3 Felony: 4 to 12 years in prison, and/or a fine between $3,000 and $750,000
  • Class 4 Felony (extraordinary risk): 2 to 8 years in prison, and/or a fine between $2,000 and $500,000
  • Class 4 Felony: 2 to 6 years in prison, and/or a fine between $2,000 and $500,000
  • Class 5 Felony (extraordinary risk): 1 to 4 years in prison, and/or a fine between $1,000 and $100,000
  • Class 5 Felony: 1 to 3 years in prison, and/or a fine between $1,000 and $100,000
  • Class 6 Felony: 1 year to 18 months in prison, and/or a fine between $1,000 and $100,000
  • Class 6 Felony (extraordinary risk): 1 to 2 years in prison, and/or a fine between $1,000 and $100,000

Misdemeanors in Colorado

Misdemeanors are considered less serious crimes and can include disorderly conduct, harassment, prostitution, and theft. They are punishable by fines and jail sentences of 18 months or less. Only class 1 misdemeanors are further classified as extraordinary crimes.

The classes and penalties for misdemeanors include:

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor (extraordinary risk): 6 to 24 months in jail, and/or fines between $500 and $5,000
  • Class 1 Misdemeanor: 6 to 18 months in jail, and/or a fine between $500 and $5,000
  • Class 2 Misdemeanor: 3 to 12 months in jail, and/or a fine between $250 and $1,000
  • Class 3 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail, and/ or a fine between $50 and $750

A Conviction Could Have Life-Altering Consequences

Whether you have been charged with a felony or a misdemeanor, the consequences can be devastating. A conviction goes on your criminal record, which could affect your ability to obtain a job, housing, or even attend college, as many institutions conduct background checks before making a decision.

Contact Gerash Steiner, P.C. for a Free Consultation

If you were charged with a felony or misdemeanor, contact our lawyers at Gerash Steiner, P.C. for the fierce legal representation you need. We will thoroughly review the circumstances of your case to develop a strong legal defense on your behalf. Our attorneys will fight hard for you in court to protect your rights and freedom.

Call us today (303) 732-5048 or contact us online to schedule your consultation.